The Five Element Types

Lesson 1, Topic 1
In Progress

The Five Element Types

In Traditional Chinese Medicine theory, there are Five Elements; Earth, Fire, Metal, Water, Wood. Each of these Five Elements has a connection to specific internal organs and energy pathways (meridians or channels) in the body. In each of these Five Elements one meridian/organ system is Yin and one is Yang.

Earth – Spleen (Yin) and Stomach (Yang)

Fire  – Heart (Yin) and Small Intestine (Yang) and Pericardium (Yin) and Triple Heater (Yang)

Metal – Lung (Yin) and Large Intestine (Yang)

Water  – Kidney (Yin) and Bladder (Yang)

Wood – Liver (Yin) and Gall Bladder (Yang)